Posted by: Kristen Hicks | June 10, 2011

Texas Movies

When I first heard about the Alamo Drafthouse’s Rolling Roadshow series dedicated to the greatest Texas movies, my first thought was: Summer Project! I must go to all of them.

Then, I spent some time mapping out the different locations and checking the dates and took a moment to remember my current financial state and realized, somewhat deflated, that it just wasn’t going to happen.

So, my new goal, is to make a point to watch all of these movies at some point this summer and write something about them here.  My dad and brother have each taken some interest in the series as well, so I should have some company for my viewing experiences (yay, family!).

With no further ado, here’s the top 10 Texas movies, according to the Texas Monthly panel:

The Last Picture Show

Hud

Bonnie and Clyde

Giant

No Country for Old Men

Tender Mercies

Blood Simple

Red River

The Searchers

 The Texas Chainsaw Massacre.

Other Movies Mentioned in the discussion, that I’ll try to get to as well:

Dazed and Confused

Friday Night Lights

The Southerner

Slacker

Rio Bravo

Riders of the Purple Sage

Crazy Heart

Urban Country

Lone Star

The Three Burials of Melquiades Estrada

The Apostle

There are a couple from my  Texas Independence Day Movie Marathon that didn’t make the list (hard to imagine how The Best Little Whorehouse in Texas could be left off).

Leave a Reply

Categories

